Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

FACULTY & STAFF

Department Chair

Lawrence Markowitz

Dr. Lawrence Markowitz
Professor of Political Science
856-256-4889
markowitzl@rowan.edu

Lawrence P. Markowitz is Professor of Political Science at Rowan University. He specializes in the study of state building, authoritarianism, and political violence, with a regional focus on post-Soviet Eurasia. His first book, State Erosion: Unlootable Resources and Unruly Elites in Central Asia (Cornell University Press, 2013), shows how economic resources explain the surprising durability of weak states. It was awarded Honorable Mention for the 2014 Ed A Hewitt Book Prize given by the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies, for “an outstanding monograph on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe, published in the previous year.” His second book (with Mariya Y. Omelicheva), entitled Webs of Corruption: Trafficking and Terrorism  in Central Asia (Columbia University Press, 2019), explains how state involvement in drug trafficking accounts for such low levels of terrorist violence in Central Asia. His work has also appeared in a variety of academic journals, including Comparative Political StudiesComparative Politics, Democratization, Ethnic and Racial StudiesPost-Soviet Affairs, Social Science Quarterly, and Terrorism and Political Violence. His current projects explore the rise of far right mobilization in Russia and the political economy of repression in post-Soviet autocracies. His research has been supported by the Minerva Research Initiative, Fulbright Commission, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Social Science Research Council, International Research and Exchanges Board, and National Council for Eurasian and East European Research. Markowitz received his Ph.D. in Political Science from University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Ms. Lauren Banko
Lecturer of Economics
856-256-4500 ext. 53967
banko@rowan.edu

Lauren Banko is an economics lecturer at Rowan University. She is a South Jersey native, but completed her undergraduate degree at Pace University (NYC campus) in economics and mathematics. Lauren received her M.A. in economics at Temple University in 2013. While there, she taught several undergraduate courses, including microeconomics and the American Economy; a course which focused on current issues in economic settings. At Rowan, Lauren has taught introduction to micro and macro, intermediate micro, sports economics, and seminar in economics. Her academic interests include sports, labor, and health economics. Lauren has coauthored a paper titled "Gender Differences in Response to Setbacks: Evidence from Professional Tennis", published in Social Science Quarterly. Some of her current research is in palliative care, wage inequality, and craft beer breweries.

Danielle

Dr. Danielle Gougon
Instructor of Political Science
856-256-4866
gougon@rowan.edu

Danielle Gougon is a professor of Political Science in the Department of Political Science and Economics at Rowan University. Dr. Gougon earned a doctoral degree in Political Science from Rutgers University, New Brunswick and a Master's in Feminist Theory and Gender Studies from the Graduate Faculty of Political and Social Science, New School University, New York. Dr. Gougon's specializes in women in politics, feminist theory, reproductive politics, and interest groups. Her research focuses on feminist organizations' responses to new challenges in reproductive politics in the contemporary U.S. setting.

Prior to joining Rowan, Dr. Gougon served as the Dean of Global Academic and First Year Programs at Douglass College, the women's college at Rutgers University, New Brunswick and was responsible for developing curriculum for women's leadership courses and programs. Dr. Gougon also directed the Global Village, a nationally recognized living-learning community that was awarded numerous financial gifts to support its work in developing globally minded women leaders. During her tenure, Dr. Gougon launched several new houses focused on human rights, women's leadership, women in business, and Mid-East coexistence. Dr. Gougon has also designed and led service-learning trips and has taken students to Thailand to study sex trafficking, Cambodia to study genocide, Juarez, Mexico to study globalization, and South Africa to study apartheid.

Kathy Javian

Dr. Katharine S. Javian
Lecturer of Political Science
856-256-4500 ext. 53984
javian@rowan.edu

Kathy earned her Ph.D. in Political Science from Temple University. Her teaching interests include: American government, race and poverty in America, public opinion and political behavior, state and local government, social movement activism, and political science research methods. Kathy’s research focuses broadly on elections and policy in the American states as well as public opinion and political behavior. Currently, she is working on a project that examines how state policies affect mass incarceration and racial disparities in incarceration rates. 

 

Ferari

Dr. Stuti Jha
Assistant Professor of Economics
856-256-4500 ext. 53965
jha@rowan.edu

Stuti Jha graduated from the PhD program in Economics at Purdue University in August 2015. She has a masterís degree in Economics from University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee. Her research interests are in labor economics, health economics and international economics. Her research focuses on physician labor market outcomes, particularly, gender wage gap among physicians and the residency match process and its effects on employment choices of physicians. She taught at Purdue University and Butler University before joining Rowan University. She has four years of industry experience in the field of policy analysis and project management.

Kul Kapri

Dr. Kul Kapri
Assistant Professor of Economics
856-256-4500 ext. 53964
kapri@rowan.edu

Kul Kapri earned his PhD in Economics from Maxwell School, Syracuse University in 2014. He has a master's degree in Mathematics from Western Illinois University and a master's degree in Statistics from Tribhuvan University, Nepal. His research interests are in International Economics, Development Economics, Labor Economics and Applied Econometrics. More specifically, his recent works focus on labor market outcomes and trade policy, trade orientation and firm performance, offshoring, and remittances. His scholarly work has been published in International Review of Economics & Finance and Development Journal of the South. As a consultant to the World Bank and a government officer to the Government of Nepal, he also involved in formulation, implementation, monitoring/supervision and evaluation of many public policies and programs.

Misty Knight-Finley
Dr. Misty Knight-Finley
Assistant Professor of Political Science 
knightfinley@rowan.edu
 
Misty Knight-Finley is Assistant Professor of Political Science at Rowan Univerersity. Her primary research in comparative public policy examines the relationship between institutions, the policy process, and policy outcomes, especially in the areas of social welfare policy, social regulatory policy, and domestic human rights policy. She has additional research interests in legislative behavior in the U.S. Senate. Her work has appeared in Congress & the Presidency and has been featured in popular news outlets, including The Washington Post's Monkey Cage. Before coming to Rowan, Dr. Knight-Finley earned her PhD in Political Science from the University of California, Irvine.

Yupeng LiDr. Yupeng Li
Assistant Professor of Economics
liy@rowan.edu 

Dr. Li’s research interests are in Health Economics, Clinical Outcomes Research, Industrial Organization, and Applied Econometrics. More specifically, his current research focuses on patent transfers within the pharmaceutical industry, and the long term consequences associated with aortic aneurysms. He works intensively with physicians and serves as Health Economist in the research group at the Yale Center for Thoracic Aortic Disease. Related scholarly work has been published or is forthcoming in several journals, such as The Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery, Journal of Vascular Surgery, et al. At Rowan, he teaches courses in Economics.

Dr. Jesse Melvin
Lecturer of Economics
melvin@rowan.edu

Jesse Melvin is a Lecturer of Economics at Rowan University, where he is currently teaching microeconomic theory and statistics/econometrics. He graduated from the PhD program in Economics at University of Delaware in 2018. Jesse recently authored a paper regarding residential energy efficiency titled “The Split Incentives Energy Efficiency Problem: Evidence of Underinvestment by Landlords,” which was published by Energy Policy. His research interests include industrial organization and labor economics, especially with regard to immigration.

Anne Pluta

Dr. Anne Pluta
Assistant Professor of Political Science
pluta@rowan.edu

Anne earned her Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She also has a M.A. in History from West Chester University. Her primary research interests are the American presidency, political communication and the media. In addition, Anne is interested in the methodological challenges involved in doing historical research in political science. Her work has appeared in Presidential Studies Quarterly and Congress and the Presidency. Currently, Anne is working on a book manuscript tentatively titled The Evolution of Popular Presidential Communication: Opportunities and Incentives from George Washington to Barack Obama.

Natalie Reaves

Dr. Natalie D. Reaves
Associate Professor of Economics
856-256-5487
reaves@rowan.edu

Dr. Natalie Reaves is a southern New Jersey native, originally from Brotmanville, NJ. She attended Rutgers University-New Brunswick, the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and Wayne State University receiving B.S., M.S. and PhD degrees in Economics. Prior to coming to Rowan, she taught at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, and has worked for the Social Security Administration and the United Auto Workers (UAW) Economic Research Dept. She is a Health Economist who examines a variety of health related issues including health insurance, Medicare/Medicaid, Obamacare and the impact of medical technology on health care costs. In addition, she researches the impact of government regulation on innovation in the pharmaceutical industry. In particular, she studies how changes in patents, tax laws and other government regulations encourages/discourages firms to develop remedies for rare and neglected diseases such as Touretteís, rare cancers, Sickle Cell and Malaria. Finally, she also has interests in environmental economics, law and economics and neuroeconomics.

Katrina Somdahl-Sands

Dr. Katrinka C. Somdahl-Sands
Associate Professor of Political Science
856-256-4816
somdahl-sands@rowan.edu

Katrinka Somdahl-Sands is an Associate Professor of Political Science and is the Coordinator for the New Jersey Geographic Alliance. She is a political geographer with research interests in the spaces of political communication, popular geopolitics, mediated spaces of performance, and geographic education. Her recent teaching areas include Contemporary World Problems, Politics on Film, Global Challenges, and regional courses on Africa, the Middle East and Europe

3/4 TIME AND ADJUNCT FACULTY

Fernand Agou
agou@rowan.edu

Thomas Arndt
arndt@rowan.edu

Kathy Balin, Esq.
Cell: 609-545-0800
balin@rowan.edu 

Lawrence Bernstein
bernstein@rowan.edu

Carlo Dennis R. Candalla, M.A.
candalla@rowan.edu

Dr. Robert Ferrari
ferrari@rowan.edu 

Frank Fuller
fullerf@rowan.edu

 Dr. Habib Jam
jam@rowan.edu

 Serkan Kalman
kalman@rowan.edu

William J. Kiamie
kiamie@rowan.edu 

Francine V. Knight
knight@rowan.edu

Mike Leonardo, M.B.A.
leonardo@rowan.edu

Joseph Matriccino
matriccino@rowan.edu 

Joshua Martineau
martineau@rowan.edu

Dr. David R. Mayer
mayer@rowan.edu

Timothy G. Mihok
mihok@rowan.edu

 Sharleen Rajput
rajputs@rowan.edu

Dr. James Ronan
ronan@rowan.edu

Peter Rosica
rosica@rowan.edu

Dr. William Schrader
Cell: 609-953-0180
schrader@rowan.edu

Diane Trace
trace@rowan.edu

Robert Vaden, M.A.
vaden@rowan.edu

Andreas Alfred Verrios
verrios@rowan.edu

Kathleen M. Zarnosky
zarnosky@rowan.edu

All Political Science Adjuncts may be reached at 856-256-4500 ext. 64631
All Economics Adjuncts may be reached at 856-256-4500 ext. 53323 or 64866