2020 CHSS Awards

2020 CHSS Awards

Celebrating our Class of 2020!

Join in the Celebration

The College of Humanities & Social Sciences will hold its in-person Commencement ceremonies on Thursday, July 16th. Friends and family can watch the live stream of the ceremonies 

Thursday, July 16th at 10am
  • Early Childhood Education (dual majors in American Studies or Liberal Studies)
  • Elementary Education (dual majors in American Studies, English, History, Liberal Studies, or Spanish)
  • Liberal Studies

Thursday, July 16th at 1pm

Link to Stream

  • Anthropology
  • Criminal Justice (M.A.)
  • Economics
  • Human Services
  • International Studies
  • Law & Justice Studies
  • Political Science

Thursday, July 16th at 3:30pm

Link to Stream

  • American Studies
  • Disaster Preparedness & Emergency Management
  • English
  • General Studies
  • History
  • History (M.A.)
  • Modern Languages & Linguistics
  • Philosophy & Religion Studies
  • Sociology
  • Spanish
  • Subject Matter Education (dual majors with English, History, or Spanish) 


Watch a Commencement message from the dean and your faculty! 

2020 Seniors of Distinction

Every year, each CHSS major recognizes a Senior of Distinction. This graduating senior is recognized for both their academic achievements, as well as their contribution to the department or field of study. Click here to see the Seniors of Distinction award booklet.

Africana Studies - Bria Pender
American Studies - Saadiqa Smart
Anthropology - Katarzyna Krzton
Disaster Preparedness & Emergency Management - Heather Byrne
Economics - Amanda Pinho
English - Farah Bakri
General Studies - Sandra Collazo
History - Sylvia Hogue
Human Services - Kelly Auletto
International Studies - Elizabeth Mosolovich
Law and Justice - Cameron McIver
Liberal Studies - Alexandra Schlager
Modern Languages & Linguistics - Danny Librizzi
Political Science - Ny'Asia Brackett
Philosophy & Religion Studies - Chad Shire
Sociology - Connor Chapman
Spanish - Angelica Medina

2020 Medallion Winners

Many CHSS departments have a medallion award that is either endowed by the department or a donor. Each of these awards have specific criteria often centered on academic performance.

Connor Chapman - Samuel E. Witchell Sociology Award
Nicole Colasanti - Excellence in Philosophy Medallion Award
Marco Crolla - Gary Hunter Excellence in History Award
Megan Dougherty - Excellence in Law and Justice Studies Award
Brody Gallagher - Dr. Bela Mukhoti Excellence in Economics Award
Jacob Haulenbeek - Francis Peacock Political Science Award
Zachary Parisi - Excellence in Philosophy Medallion Award
John Nathan Smith - Corann Okoroudu Award for Excellence in Africana Studies
Rachael Van Lare - Department of World Languages Award

James Madison Fellowship

Tessa Bellucio (Knight) is a teacher at I.S. Korloff Torah Academy High School for Girls in Bala Cynwyd PA.  She graduated in 2010. She is applying to Rutgers University for her Master’s degree.

Steven Anderson is a teacher at Timber Creek Regional High School  in NJ, graduated in 2012.  He is a graduate student in History here at Rowan. 

Wall of Fame Recipients

Faculty and advisors are nominated by students and alumni for the Wall of Fame. Several CHSS faculty and advisors were recognized this year. The full list can be found here.  

Joel Capellan, Law and Justice Studies, Teaching
Cynthia Finer, Liberal Studies, Advising
Danielle Gougon, Political Science and Economics, Teaching
Emily Hyde, English, Teaching
Christine Larsen-Britt, World Languages, Advising (2)
Dean Leech, Law and Justice Studies, Advising
Sandra Joy, Sociology and Anthropology, Teaching 
James Shrader, History, Teaching (2)
Timothy Viator, English, Advising
Michael Virga, Law and Justice Studies, Teaching

Other Honors and Awards

Kayleigh Rogers - (Liberal Studies & Elementary Education) was among first prize winners at the NJ Womens and Gender Studies Consortium for her paper, "Female Perpetrators of the Holocaust”.

Benjamin Bareiszis - (International Studies) accepted to the Japan Exchange and Teaching (JET) program

Rachel Van Lare - (Modern Languages & Linguistics) accepted to the Japan Exchange and Teaching (JET) program.

Muqaddas Ejaz - (History Alumna) was honored as the 2020 Community Advocate of the Year by the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO).

Did you receive a prestigious award or honor? Let us know by emailing information to promotechss@rowan.edu!